Wayne Helton inducted into PSTC 2014 Hall of Fame

Wayne Helton Inducted Into PSTC 2014 Hall of Fame

The Pressure Sensitive Tape Council (PSTC) is pleased to announce Wayne Helton, Senior Vice President of Manufacturing, Shurtape Technologies, LLC as this year’s inductee into the 2014 Hall of Fame. PSTC’s Hall of Fame recognizes those individuals whose personal commitment and accomplishments have helped to grow the pressure sensitive adhesive (PSA) tape industry as well as PSTC.

The 2014 Hall of Fame honoree was formally announced during the PSTC Fall Executive’s Meeting 2014 at the Hyatt Regency Coconut Point Resort & Spa in Bonita Springs, FLA, in November.

Mr. Helton graduated from Tennessee Technological University in 1972 with a B.S. in Engineering, and minors in Business Management and Math. He is also a veteran of the U.S. Army Signal Corps and a commissioned officer from 1972 to 1974

Mr. Helton was employed at Kendall Company, which later became Tyco International, for 22 years. Assignments included plant project engineer and corporate Industrial Engineer for four years before turning his career to manufacturing line management. During the next eighteen years, Mr. Helton successfully carried out the responsibilities of Production Department Manager, Plant Superintendent, Plant Manager and finally General Manager of Operations, Tape Division. These assignments took him and his family to four different geographic locations in the southeast and northeast U.S. He was responsible for manufacturing of healthcare products, industrial and retail non-woven products, and a range of industrial, retail and construction tapes.

Mr. Helton joined Shurtape Technologies in 1997 with the initial assignment of being a “greenfield” startup of the packaging tape business in Hudson, N.C. and later added responsibilities of the duct tape manufacturing operation. He was promoted to Vice-President of Manufacturing in 2000 with responsibilities for all manufacturing operations. In 2012, he was promoted to Senior Vice President of Manufacturing with responsibility for global Manufacturing, Quality, EHS and Compliance.

Mr. Helton became involved in PSTC in 1999 and became Shurtape’s representative on the Board of Directors in 2001. In addition to the Board of Directors role, he has served PSTC on the Regulatory Committee, Meetings and Planning committee, Marketing Committee and more recently, the Responsible Tape Manufacturer (RTM) Committee. He was also deeply involved in the transition of PSTC executive management from the Glen Anderson era to the current Kellen Group with Patrick Farrey and Michelle Miller. He was PSTC’s Treasurer, 2008 – 2010; VP, 2011 – 2012; and President, 2013. He is currently serving as PSTC’s Past President.

Criteria for the PSTC Hall of Fame changed in 2009, allowing for the induction of both currently employed and retired individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to PSTC and/or the PSA tape industry as a whole.

This year’s honorees were selected by the PSTC Hall of Fame Committee, which is comprised of a member of the Hall of Fame, a member of the PSTC Board of Directors and a PSTC member-at-large.

Hall of Fame members receive:

  • The retired inductee and partner, is PSTC’s guest at the meeting they receive the award
  • Lifetime membership with PSTC
  • Complimentary registration at all PSTC meetings
  • The Steuben crystal award signifying that they are Hall of Fame members of our industry

Past Hall of Fame recipients include:

  • Roopram Ramharack, Ph.D.
  • Michael Tumey, Ph.D.
  • Carl M. Allieri
  • Glen R. Anderson
  • Richard G. Breeden, Jr.
  • Dennis Burns
  • Carl J. Calabrese
  • Robert Clark
  • Ray Coughlan
  • Carl Dahlquist
  • Brad Dozier
  • George C. Fant, Jr.
  • Stuart H. Ganslaw
  • C. Gregg Geiger
  • Robert Gutheil
  • Arthur E. Higinbotham
  • Glenn C. Hilton, Jr.
  • Ronald M. Jacobs
  • Timothy B. Jensen, Ph.D.
  • John Johnston
  • Patrick K. Deconinck
  • Robert J. Leander
  • Seven D. Lennon
  • John H. Lind
  • Guy Lipsomb
  • John McDevitt
  • Robert Mueller
  • John Pufahl
  • Richard L. Scholl
  • Jerry M. Serra, Ph.D.
  • Calvin H. Shuford
  • Harold M. Sonnichsen
  • David Taylor
  • Bruce A. Thalacker
Scroll to Top