PSTC Announces 2010 Dahlquist Award winner

PSTC Announces 2010 Dahlquist Award Winner

The Pressure Sensitive Tape Council (PSTC) named Jaime C. Grunlan Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Department of Chemical Engineering & Materials Science and Engineering Program, Texas A&M University, recipient of its coveted 2010 Carl Dahlquist Award. The award is named for innovator Dahlquist who developed the Dahlquist criterion of tack, determining the modulus value of a material necessary for it to be low enough and tacky enough to be considered a pressure sensitive adhesive.

PSTC presents the Dahlquist Award to one speaker during its annual technical conference who, following the evaluation of a panel of judges, demonstrates the very best in research relating to adhesive tape technology. The selection covers a range of criteria, concentrating on originality and scientific contribution, but also includes presentation and quality of visuals.

Grunaln presented “Nanocomposite Gas Barrier Thin Films on PET” at the PSTC TECH 33 technical seminar, May 12-14, at the Venetian/Palazzo Hotel in Las Vegas, Nevada. Grunlan’s paper was one of 27 during the three-day technical seminar, which was part of PSTC’s highly attended Week of Learning where the entire pressure sensitive adhesive (PSA) tape industry channel was represented from adhesive manufacturers and suppliers to tape manufacturers, tape converters, associations and industry experts.


“This year’s TECH 33 speakers challenged the judging process with so many quality presentations and well-documented technical papers,” said Dr. Gerard Prilutski, PSTC TECH 33 Committee Chair and Manager, Research & Development, American Biltrite, Inc. “Several of the judges commented that PSTC had an all-time high in outstanding presentations challenging the Carl Dahlquist award process.”

Scroll to Top