PSTC Names 2017 Carl Dahlquist Award Recipient

PSTC Names 2017 Carl Dahlquist Award Recipient

The Pressure Sensitive Tape Council (PSTC) named Peter Gabriele, Vice President of Corporate Technology Development at Secant Group, recipient of its coveted 2017 Carl Dahlquist Award. The award is named for innovator Dahlquist, who developed the Dahlquist ”Criterion of Tack,” which determines if the modulus value of a material necessary is low enough and tacky enough to be considered a pressure sensitive adhesive.

PSTC presents the Dahlquist Award to one speaker during its annual technical conference who, following the evaluation of a panel of judges, demonstrates the very best in research relating to adhesive tape technology. The selection covers a range of criteria, concentrating on originality and scientific contribution, but also includes presentation and quality of visuals.

Gabriele presented LASER DIRECTED INFRARED ANALYSIS (LDIR): A New IR Imaging Technology to Study Functional Group Spatial Relationships in PSA Adhesive Surfaces at the PSTC TECH 40 technical seminar, which took place May 17-19 at PSTC’s Tape Summit in Las Vegas.

Gabriele, who also won the Dahlquist Award in 2001, is a nationally recognized R&D executive and an acknowledged innovator and thought leader in biomaterials for regenerative medicine in implantable cardiovascular technologies. He is a leading authority on polymer biodegradable/bioresorbable technologies for medical device and chronic wound care.

Gabriele holds a BS/M.Sc. in biochemistry from University of Hartford; a M.Sc. in Biotechnology from Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore; a dual M.Sc.E. in Technology Management from University of Pennsylvania, Penn Engineering and the Wharton School of Business. He currently has over 50 U.S. and foreign patents issued and pending.

Scroll to Top